

## PRESS RELEASE

Release Date: January 9, 2024

## 2024 SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY CIVIL GRAND JURY

**SAN BERNARDINO, CA**— Nineteen San Bernardino County residents were selected on December 15, 2023, to serve as the Civil Grand Jury for a one-year term which began on January 1, 2024.

Presiding Judge R. Glenn Yabuno led the proceeding which began with the presentation of the 2023 Grand Jury's Final Report by Foreperson Bruce Miner, followed by the selection of the 2024 Grand Jury with the random drawing of names from the ceremonial "Grand Jury Wheel" by Court Executive Officer and Jury Commissioner Anabel Z. Romero. The ceremony concluded with the swearing in of the Grand Jurors for the 2024 Term.

Over 40 San Bernardino County residents applied for the upcoming term. The 12 judges of the Grand Jury Interview and Selection Panel reviewed applications and selected the top candidates, each of whom were interviewed by judges from the panel. Superior Court judges voted to approve the final slate of candidates.

The California Penal Code requires that the Grand Jury be selected by random drawing of no less than 25 and no more than 30 individuals who proportionally represent the five supervisorial districts of the County. The first 19 names drawn constitute the Grand Jury, with the remaining individuals selected as alternates in the order drawn. Alternates will serve in the event that any member cannot complete their one-year term.

The names of the grand jurors are on the following page of this press release. For further questions or comments, please visit the Grand Jury's website at <u>http://wp.sbcounty.gov/grandjury</u>/ or contact the Grand Jury Coordinator at (909) 382-3971.

For media-related inquiries, contact the Communications and Public Affairs Office via courts-pio@sb-court.org.

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF SAN BERNARDINO 247 West Third Street, 11th Floor San Bernardino, Ca 92415-0302 www.sb-court.org

> Lisa M. Rogan Presiding Judge

Anabel Z. Romero Court Executive Officer

## 2024 SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY CIVIL GRAND JURORS:

Liza Lopez David Ceballos **Melvin Pickens** Timothy Steenson Ulysses Albert Jr. Felix Sepulveda **Rosalind Jones Ronald Koester** James Zimmerman Nancy Teegarden Aletha Hicks-Moffatt Todd-Anthony Le Brane Melinda Ferguson Jean Rogers Edward Jabo Celene Hampton Milton Fogelman Mary Fogelman John Bannes